“itis” of the WHAT? Come again?

Guess who’s back?

Melinda’s back! Back again! Back for the second class of #ECI834. I must confess, I was also a parking lot dropout with Twana last semester for ECI 833. I didn’t drop the class because it seemed too hard or that the content was way over my head. OK, just a little over my head. However, I dropped it because I knew I would want to try and learn it all and take it all in. The thought of taking two classes and having a work, grad student, and life balance, would be next to impossible to actually obtain. So parking lot dropout I was.

Photo Credit: Sepehr Ehsani Flickr via Compfight cc

In this week’s blog post I would like to introduce and discuss my online and blended course prototype development assignment for my #ECI834 class. Stephanie, Twana and I will be working on this project together as we all work within the school of nursing with Saskatchewan Polytechnic. While the three of us were discussing this assignment we wanted to pick a topic that not only was interesting for us but also something that could be brought back to aid students and the nursing program overall. As we were brainstorming for topics in nursing, we discussed how students always struggle with medical terminology.

nursing-books

Nursing textbooks

What is medical terminology? Every profession has its jargon, a specialized language that allows for quick and efficient communication between members of the same profession while attempting to minimize misunderstandings. It is in everyone’s interest to be an insider when it comes to medical terminology Being familiar with medical words makes your visit to the doctor less intimidating and, more importantly, enables you to make clearer decisions about your health along side your doctor.

Medical terminology is a specialized language used by health care practitioners including nursing. Just like a foreign language, it has its own vocabulary and ways of stringing together words in an understandable matter for everyone format. But, unlike a foreign language, you come across medical terminology every day in magazines and newspapers with articles about new drugs, diets, new medical treatments and on television shows like Grey’s Anatomy.

As you can tell from this short YouTube video, that medical terminology would be hard to understand and verbalize without some type of training and understanding. This is why we have decided to do our assignment on medical terminology for nursing students.

We are yet to finalize if our prototype development assignment will be an online and/or blended course. We are in the early stages of developing this medical terminology
course and hope to gain more knowledge about online and blended courses to aid in our decision moving forward.

Photo Credit: giulia.forsythe Flickr via Compfight cc

If anyone has any thoughts on online versus blended learning for a medical terminology course from their perspective, we would love to hear from you!

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on ““itis” of the WHAT? Come again?

  1. Great idea! I am with you in the sense that I’d love to gain more knowledge in regards to online and blended learning prior to finalizing the details of our project. I’m looking forward to seeing what you come up with and your final product!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am torn between what would be best for the students in this case in terms of online vs blended. I like the blended idea because students can have an opportunity to meet with the teacher and other students throughout the semester on something like Zoom to ask questions, discuss and further their understanding. Online is nice because it is fully flexible and the students could go about it at their own pace as long as they are meeting certain deadlines laid out by your course.

    After being in so many courses that make use of Zoom I feel like I wouldn’t get a lot out of a class that was purely individual and online only. Having said that, the content of the course would play a role in this as well. Our classes with Alec depend so much on discussion and reflecting with one another that we would miss out on incredible discussion opportunities if it were online. If the content was strictly terminology perhaps there isn’t much that needs to be discussed? You would be better at deciding that having a full understanding of the medical terminology as opposed to me with next to no understanding lol. Looking forward to seeing your course come together!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am excited that you are looking at Medical Terminology! I am a Career Counsellor in my building and had a student take the online MED 161 offered by Saskpolytech last year (a dual credit course where you earn high school and post-secondary credits) and who found it was sometimes difficult as it was mostly online and individual (although once she got the hang of it she found it easier). Seeing this as a blended course would be awesome for both high school and post-secondary students! I’m not sure how it would work, but you may want to check if you can gain access and/or look at the current course to see how it is set up for ideas on how to move forward. And, if you want, I can ask my student if they have any suggestions on what would have been nice to have access to! Let me know and have fun!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I just want to say that I think this should be required teaching for all students! I explicitly teach this to my students in Health Science 20 but also throughout all of my science classes. Latin is the language of science because it is no longer evolving, and once you understand the root words, you can interpret so many words that previously seemed so unrecognizable. Good topic!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Just when I thought a LMS was a good thing I read Audrey Watters “Beyond the LMS”……. – Blogmybusylife

  6. Pingback: Virtual reality education and medical terminolgy | Mrs. Melinda Pelletier

  7. Pingback: KEEP CALM we’re making progress | Mrs. Melinda Pelletier

  8. Pingback: I can see the light… | Mrs. Melinda Pelletier

Leave a Reply

